Hit and miss day for League of Arizona Cities and Towns

Information from the Yellow Sheet Report

The League of Arizona Cities and Towns today honored 14 Republican lawmakers—many of who will not return—as legislative heroes for their work supporting municipal interests over the past year, including Pinal County’s Frank Pratt (photo). Reps. Cecil Ash, Linda Gray, Nancy McClain, John Nelson and Ted Vogt.

Fourteen Democrats were honored, including Sen. Paul Aboud and Reps. Tom Chabin, Steve Farley and Eric Meyer.

Meanwhile, the Phoenix City Council voted 4-5 against renewing its membership with the organization, The Arizona Republic reported this morning. The council’s annual dues were

$142,250, and Bill Gates, Tom Simplot and Thelda Williams cited concerns about the cost. Sal DiCiccio and Jim Waring, said they were also unhappy with the League’s state political agenda at the Capitol, and accused the League of hiding the results of a poll showing broad support (51% to 38%) for the consolidated elections bill.


Share this!

Additional Articles

News Categories

Get Our Twice Weekly Newsletter!

* indicates required

Rose Law Group pc values “outrageous client service.” We pride ourselves on hyper-responsiveness to our clients’ needs and an extraordinary record of success in achieving our clients’ goals. We know we get results and our list of outstanding clients speaks to the quality of our work.

August 2012