Bats quiet as Diamondbacks on wrong end of rules snafu

San Francisco Giants second baseman Alen Hanson (19) dives safely into home plate ahead of a throw toArizona Diamondbacks catcher Jeff Mathis (2) during the eighth inning at Chase Field. /Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

By Nick Piecoro | Arizona Republic

The Diamondbacks were on the wrong end of a rules interpretation on Thursday night, a mistake by the umpiring crew that might have helped turn an already bad inning into a particularly ugly one. Or maybe it didn’t. It’s hard to say.

But what seems crystal clear about their 8-1 loss to the San Francisco Giants was that the game was lost long before manager Torey Lovullo was fed “misinformation” – in the parlance of crew chief Bill Welke – in the seventh inning. It was lost in the first. Or maybe the second. Or the third. Take your pick, really.

In the first, the Diamondbacks loaded the bases against Madison Bumgarner and came up empty. They loaded them again in the second and scored only once. They put runners on second and third in the third but couldn’t produce a clutch hit.

READ ON:

Share this!

Additional Articles

Get Our Twice Weekly Newsletter!

* indicates required

Rose Law Group pc values “outrageous client service.” We pride ourselves on hyper-responsiveness to our clients’ needs and an extraordinary record of success in achieving our clients’ goals. We know we get results and our list of outstanding clients speaks to the quality of our work.

News Categories