You are here:  Home  >  2020 Elections  >  Current Article

Almost the entire city council is up for grabs in Surprise. Here’s who is running.

Posted by   /  March 16, 2020  /  No Comments

    Print       Email
Surprise City Hall

By Jen Fifield | Arizona Republic 

As the deadline approaches for candidates in Surprise to throw their hat in the ring for this year’s election, another term for Mayor Skip Hall looks promising.

The mayor so far has no challengers, with less than a month to go before the April 6 deadline.

The city will see at least one new elected official. Councilwoman Nancy Hayden in District 2 has decided not to run for reelection.

Four of six seats on the Surprise City Council are on the Aug. 4 primary election ballot: Hayden’s seat; Patrick Duffy’s seat in District 3; Ken Remley’s seat in District 4; and David Sanders’ seat in District 5.

Residents vote only for the council seat representing their district. (The city has a tool and a map on its website so residents can find their districts.) 

Besides Hayden, the incumbents are all running for reelection. Remley is the only one running unopposed at this point.


    Print       Email
  • Published: 4 months ago on March 16, 2020
  • Posted by:
  • Last Modified: March 16, 2020 @ 6:15 pm
  • Filed Under: 2020 Elections

Leave a Reply

You might also like...

Voting by mail likely will play big role in Arizona election, says Secretary of State

Read More →