Arizona Corporation Commission primary race: Thompson, Myers lead in early results for GOP

By Ryan Randazzo | Arizona Republic

Nicholas Myers and Kevin Thompson lead in the three-way Republican race for two seats available on the Corporation Commission, according to early results Tuesday.

Kim Owens trailed them, according to preliminary results from the Secretary of State’s office.

The winners of the primary election will face Democrats Sandra Kennedy, an incumbent, and Lauren Kuby, a Tempe councilwoman, in the November general election. With only two Democratic candidates on the ballot, both advance to the final round.

Thompson is a former employee of Southwest Gas now serving on the Mesa City Council.

Myers is a policy adviser for commissioner Justin Olson, who opted not to run for a second term so he could run for the U.S. Senate. Myers is an entrepreneur who took interest in the commission when he was among thousands of customers who faced myriad issues with the Johnson Utilities water and sewer company.

Owens is a former council member for Salt River Project, acting as a liaison for shareholders of the utility to the elected officials who run the company. She is currently serving on the Arizona Power Authority, which oversees the allocation of power from dams on the Colorado River.


Share this!

Additional Articles

Get Our Twice Weekly Newsletter!

* indicates required

Rose Law Group pc values “outrageous client service.” We pride ourselves on hyper-responsiveness to our clients’ needs and an extraordinary record of success in achieving our clients’ goals. We know we get results and our list of outstanding clients speaks to the quality of our work.

News Categories
August 2022