By Rick Johnson | Phoenix New Times
Since Election Day, when Arizona voters approved Proposition 207 with a 60 percent majority, residents have been living in a sort of gray area regarding the legality of growing and possessing personal-use amounts of marijuana.
No more. As of Monday, November 30, Arizona’s 2020 election results have officially been certified, and the law is in effect. That means you can’t get busted for pot in Arizona anymore, provided you stay within the lanes painted by Prop 207.
Prop 207 comes with seventeen pages of newly minted laws governing legalized marijuana, among which is the lawful right of individuals 21 years or older to purchase up to one ounce at a licensed dispensary or cultivate “not more than six plants” at home for personal use. (If two or more adults live in your home, then twelve plants are allowed to be grown.)
Jonathan Udell is a cannabis attorney with Scottsdale’s Rose Law Group, as well as the communications director for AZ NORML. He advises would-be growers to familiarize themselves with the full text of the law (which you can read here) and consult an attorney if they have questions. Udell also cautions that renters should examine their leases before investing in grow equipment.
“Common lease language such as ‘a drug-free area’ will often prevent growing in a rental,” he says.