Who is on the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors?

By Sasha Hupka | Arizona Republic

Maricopa County’s Board of Supervisors is made up of five elected members. They hold the keys to a $4.5 billion budget in the fourth most populous county in the nation.

Supervisors, who are elected out of districts covering different areas of the county, appoint a county manager who serves as the chief administrator of Maricopa County.

While the county manager handles day-to-day operations across most departments, the board is responsible for setting a vision and direction for the region.

That makes the board something of a sleeping giant in regional politics. From a 30,000-foot view, supervisors oversee land use issues, public health, Election Day voting and more. They directly control the county’s checkbook, giving them authority over the resources of the Sheriff’s Office, Attorney’s Office and other departments with elected heads.

They also serve as the municipal body for those living in unincorporated areas of the county, who aren’t residents of cities or towns and do not get the same amenities as those who are.

Supervisor spots are highly coveted by Arizona politicos, often serving as a steppingstone to higher political office. Former county supervisors include former U.S. Rep. Ed Pastor and former Gov. Jan Brewer.

Each year, the board votes to select a chairman and vice chairman. During the first meeting of 2023, members chose Clint Hickman, who represents the northwest Valley, to be chairman. His vice chairman is Jack Sellers, who represents parts of Chandler, Tempe, Mesa and Gilbert.


Share this!

Additional Articles

Get Our Twice Weekly Newsletter!

* indicates required

Rose Law Group pc values “outrageous client service.” We pride ourselves on hyper-responsiveness to our clients’ needs and an extraordinary record of success in achieving our clients’ goals. We know we get results and our list of outstanding clients speaks to the quality of our work.

News Categories
February 2023